Post-parting

Photo orginally posted at http://bluebirdskylark.tumblr.com/page/2When I woke up and you were there,
I snuggled down deeper into the blankets.
I didn’t want to wake up,
Because then I knew we’d have to talk.
Me, about why this was happening to us.
You, about why this was happening to me.

When I woke up again and you were gone,
I snuggled down deeper into the blankets.
I didn’t want to find you,
Because then I knew we’d have to talk.
Me, about how a tiny newborn baby scared me to death.
You, about how we needed help.

The sun crawled through the sky,
Peeking into our room.
I couldn’t tell day from night,
Wake from sleep.
You found me on the floor, rocking.
Arms wrapped tightly around my knees,
Knees pulled to my chest.

We talked.

Me, about how I needed help.
You, about our tiny perfect newborn baby.

Leave a Reply

